Stone Carving Workshop in my workshop, March 2013

Day 1 of another Stone Carving Workshop in my studio, and as ever I am amazed.  I have given up trying to predict what the students will be like – and what they will achieve.  At first glance my students today looked quite genteel and reserved.   Being somewhat past the first flush of youth, I wondered whether they might struggle to shift the stone, and regretted that I didn’t have blocks of softer stone to hand.  However, I needn’t have worried. As Yvonne (in her 60s) said; ‘We are mature and don’t have any time to waste!’.  A great attitude, and very productive.

These photos were taken early in the afternoon after a morning learning different tool techniques….. Although none of these students have carved before they are already chomping away competently. It’s very exciting to see.

Tim_and_yvonne
Yvonne
Alan

Leave a Reply

